Youth Outreach Worker

General Information

Fees:

Free

Eligibility:

Ages: 12 – 24 years

Referral:

Referral required. Download the YOW Referral Form.

Next Session Dates:

Ongoing

Sessions Per Year:

52 weeks per year

Service Duration:

Determined on an individual basis and is based on needs and identified goals of young person

Languages offered:
  • English
  • Spanish
  • Hungarian
  • Somali
  • Mobile Clinician
  • Black Focused Mobile Clinician
Hours:

Monday to Friday

Location:

Community based, partner and host agencies include:
For Youth Initaitive, Rexdale Community Health Centre, Somali Women and Children Support Network, FoodShare Toronto, TCHC, LAMP, Albion Boys and Girls Club, West Toronto Youth Hub, Somali Youth Association of Toronto (SOYAT), The Community Place Hub.

Contact:

Robyn Howlett – Manager
416-645-7575 Ext:2913
robynh@yorktownfamilyservices.com

West Toronto Mobile Clinical YOWs:
Abdi Osoble (Black Focused Mobile Clinician) osobleswcsn@bellnet.ca
Lara Pierre (Mobile Clinician) LaraP@yorktownfamilyservices.com

Etobicoke North and South Team:
Abokar Mohamed abokarm@yorktownfamilyservices.com
Ahmed Jama (Somali YOW) ahmed.jama@rexdalechc.com
Haweia Ahmed haweiaa@yorktownfamilyservices.com
Mowlid Ali mowlids@yorktownfamilyservices.com

Weston/Mt Dennis and surrounding area team:
Richmond Kwame Nantwi richmond@foryouth.ca
Tim Tokunboh tim.tokunboh@yorktownfamilyservices.com
Zsuzsanna Szel (Hungarian Roma YOW); ZsuzsannaS@yorktownfamilyservices.com
Carlo Campo (Spanish YOW) carloc@yorktownfamilyservices.com
Lisa Thomas lisa.thomas@yorktownfamilyservices.com

Youth Outreach Worker

The purpose of the Youth Outreach Worker (YOW) program is to help marginalized and at-risk youth and their families better navigate and connect with services and pro social opportunities in their communities to improve youth outcomes. The PYOW program in West Toronto Lead by Yorktown Family Services, focuses on at-risk youth who live in an identified priority community and/or belong to a distinct priority population (e.g. Spanish, Somali, Hungarian Roma). These youth may experience increased barriers in accessing the opportunities that can help them to develop their capacity to make healthy life choices and achieve their goals.

Resize Font
Contrast