Engaging Youth, Families and Communities

With funding from Ontario’s Ministry of Children & Youth Services, a province-wide Youth Outreach initiative includes over 35 Youth Outreach Workers servicing Toronto’s 13 priority neighbourhoods across the city. The YOW’s work with youth aged 12 – 24 years of age and their families who are at risk of, or engaging in, anti-social, criminal and/or risky behavior; face multiple barriers to success; are disengaged from their communities, reside in an identified priority neighbourhood and/or belong to a distinct population as identified by MCYS. Youth Outreach Workers will engage youth in their assigned communities and connect them with needed services, as well as collaborate with other community resources to coordinate their activities within identified neighbourhoods.

Yorktown Child and Family Centre is the Lead Agency for the YOW program in the West end of Toronto. the program provides supports in the areas of Jamestown-Mount Olive-Silverstone, Weston Mount-Dennis and supports the Somali, Spanish and ROMA population.

For more information about the YOW program (Toronto West) and how we can be of service to you, please contact any of our Youth Outreach Workers or Robyn Howlett, the Lead YOW for the West Quadrant:

JAMESTOWN-MOUNT OLIVE-SILVERSTONE

Abokar Mohammed
abokarm@yorktownfamilyservices.com

Mowlid Ali
mowlids@yorktownfamilyservices.com

Haweia Ahmed
haweiaa@yorktownfamilyservices.com

YOWs working with specific populations:

Spanish | Felix Cabrera

felix.cabrera@yorktownfamilyservices.com

Roma | Zsuzsanna Szel

mailto:Zsuzsannas@yorktownfamilyservices.com

Somali | Ahmed Jama

ahmed.jama@rexdaleche.com

Enhanced Clinical | Perla Pardias

perlap@yorktownfamilyservices.com


Team Lead: Robyn Howlett

(416) 645-7575  Ext. 2913


robynh@yorktownfamilyservices.com


The following organizations work collaboratively in the neighbourhoods of Jamestown-Mount Olive-Silverstone and Weston-Mt. Dennis to deliver the Provincial Youth Outreach Worker Program (Toronto West):

  • For Youth Initiative (FYI)
  • Access Alliance
  • Somali Youth Association of Toronto (SOYAT)
  • YMCA Rexdale Youth Resource Centre
  • Toronto Community Housing
  • Weston Community Place Hub
  • Jane Street Hub
  • St. Albans Boys and Girls Club

The Youth Outreach Worker Program (Toronto West) is funded by the Ontario Ministry of Children and Youth Services.

Youth Connect